Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?


These are some of the awards and scholarships that are awarded yearly that provide additional recognition or financial aid for SJMC students:

Robert Bliss Bowl, Top Scholar Award

For scholarship and academic achievement, this honor is presented each year to the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average.

Frank Miller Scholarship

In honor of Des Moines Register Pulitzer-prize winning editorial cartoonist. Awarded to a journalism student with a successful contribution in the area of web-based graphic design. A Frank Miller Award also provides aid for students.

Joe Patrick Green Eyeshade Award

This award, which honors Joe R. Patrick’s dedication to copy-editing and his service to SJMC as teacher and assistant dean, recognizes outstanding copy editors, nitpickers in the Patrick tradition.

Karyl Van Scholarship

The recipient of this award will work in the E.T. Meredith Center for Magazine Studies. Named after Karyl Van, who devoted his working life to magazine publishing.

Meredith Corporation Scholarships

The Meredith Corporation awards generous scholarships for magazine majors.

Robert D. Woodward Endowed Scholarship and Public Affairs Reporting Award

The scholarship is awarded to an entering SJMC student who maintains a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 and remains a News major. The annual award recognizes outstanding student journalism work. This News scholarship and award honor SJMC professor emeritus Robert D. Woodward.

Fausch Gift Awards

Awarded to public relations students for outstanding contributions to research for the senior capstone client. Alumnus David Fausch and his wife, Doris, are the contributors along with Proctor & Gamble.

Josephine Hosman Award

Created by Josephine and Richard Hosman to provide financial support to a student who is editor of the Drake Digital News or other publication sponsored by SJMC.

John Lytle Scholarship

Awarded to a News major interested in pursing a career in broadcast news. This scholarship honors retired broadcast teacher John Lytle, a Levitt Distinguished Professor.

Harrison Harding Scholarship

Awarded to the Times-Delphic editor-in-chief. Harrison Harding was a 1938 graduate majoring in news.

Sheila A. Wolfe Scholarship

Awarded to an entering News student who is interested in print or digital news journalism and maintains a GPA of 3.5.

Katharine Futch Scholarship

A bequest from Drake alumna Katharine Farber Futch, class of 1940, provides funds to recognize outstanding achievement and potential. This renewable scholarship is awarded to an entering first-year SJMC student in any major who demonstrates professionalism, intelligence and integrity.

94.1 Top Dog Award

Recognizes an outstanding digital media student.