Faculty and staff

Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Faculty and staff

Faculty are committed to teaching excellence. As the 2005 accrediting team summarized, “Students were highly enthusiastic about the School, describing it as a very close-knit community of faculty, students and staff. Many reported having chosen Drake specifically because of the School. Students praised the faculty members for their teaching ability, caring advising, and general interest in student well-being. The journalism students consider themselves the envy of the rest of campus and are proud of that status.”

All faculty in the SJMC combine academic credentials with practical experience in the fields in which they teach. The average time in the teaching profession for SJMC faculty is 12 years. In addition, faculty holds leadership positions in a number of education and professional organizations.

Dean’s Office
Kathleen Richardson, J.D., dean and professor
Kelly Bruhn, Ph.D., APR, associate dean and associate professor
Mallory Quinn, assistant to the dean

Shari Tenney, administrative assistant
Carlyn Crowe, SJMC internship coordinator

Dorothy Pisarski, associate professor
Sandy Henry, associate professor

Digital Media Production
Todd Evans, professor
Lee Jolliffe, Ph.D., associate professor
Grace Provenzano, assistant professor
David Wright, associate professor

Public Relations and Strategic Political Communication 
Kelly Bruhn, Ph.D., APR, associate dean and associate professor
Jennifer Glover Konfrst, APR, assistant professor
Matthew Thornton, Ph.D., assistant professor

Magazine Media
Jeff Inman, assistant professor
Catherine M. Staub, Ed.D., associate professor and Fisher-Stelter Chair of Magazine Journalism

Jill Van Wyke, associate professor
Chris Snider, assistant professor

View the SJMC Faculty Handbook.